Had some problems with a patio door installation and still do. There are two pieces of plywood where our door used to be. The contractor putting the door in pointed out some structural issues that had to be fixed before the new door went in. He said he couldn't do the repairs. Luckily I have a riding buddy who is a contractor / handyman. As I'm shitting my knickers staring at a rotten rim joist and floor joist sill imagining my dining room floor falling into the basement, he pulls up in his truck, looks at it for 5 seconds and says, "That's no big deal. Relax." He says he can fit me in the next day if I'm willing to help him. No problem.
The next day we jacked up the floor from the basement and replaced all the rotten wood. We're good to go. I had to cut the deck down 2" in height. That's apparently what caused the whole problem.
So Saturday comes and the door installer is supposed to be here at 8:30am. Now, I don't know when in our society it became okay to be late all the time, but I've had just about enough of it. It's not okay to be late. It's disrespectful of other people's busy schedules. At the very least, the moment you realize you're going to be late, a phone call is in order. So 8:45 comes, 9:00 comes, and I call the guy's cell phone. He doesn't answer, which is strange because he's answered every other time I've called. So I call Home Depot, who arranged the contractor, they confirm that he was supposed to be there at 8:30, try to reach him, and can't. I call my contractor buddy and arrange for him to install the door on Monday. I go about my day and about 11am this contractor shows up. Starts acting like nothing is wrong and I ask him where he has been? He tells me was scheduled for 10am (keep in mind it's 11am now). I call his bullshit, he gives me attitude, and I tell him to get lost.
The highlight of my day was this for sure:
On Friday Mara said she wanted pink cupcakes, so we made them together. Awesome. They helped me mix, frost, and of course we had to have sprinkles.
Going riding today. LAMBA family picnic. The kids are calling it a bike party. It should be great.
1 comment:
Da Boyeez call it a bike party as well. Pic of the day... http://i561.photobucket.com/albums/ss57/phugger/DSC_0117.jpg
Post a Comment