Sunday, December 5, 2010

Snow = Fun

The weather man was almost right on Friday. We got snow, but not as much as we were supposed to. For that I'm grateful. I like snow. If it's going to be cold, it might as well snow. I just don't want a lot of snow. The last two years I have spent more time behind my snowblower than I would like. I'm hoping this year is different.

Mara on the other hand, is all about the snow. She and Ellen were so excited to play in the snow on Saturday morning I couldn't believe it. I had an early morning snow ride planned, and I had to delay it a bit so I could get the kids ready for a day in the snow. I got them some warmer mittens than they had, some new snow pants and some shovels fit for kids their size.

When I left for my ride, my lovely ladies were hard at work on the sidewalks and driveway. Things are looking up around here.
The snow ride followed soon after. A few buddies, a mid-ride beer. Same ol' song.

Tom Headed towards the bridge.

Tom again on the innerloop

Barker on the innerloop

Barker headed for the bridge.

Chris headed for the bridge. If I had taken this picture three seconds later, it would be of Chris laying on his side on the bridge will his bike bounced into the icy creek.

Mmmmm. 11.2 ounces of goodness.

Me and Chris

Following the ride, I got home and the fun really started. The kids were inside by now getting warmed up with some lunch. Ellen went down for a nap, and Mara was all about getting back outside. So we got all bundled up and headed back out. She absolutely loved it out there. We pulled the sled, we shoveled snow, and then we started to build a fort. When it became clear to me we were going to be out there for a while I got a fire going in the pit. Worked pretty good.



A little later Chris came over and as if on cue, Stacey arrived home from the grocery store with beer. Fabolous. Turns out Chris and Ellen are long lost pals. He's also a helluva sled puller.


1 comment:

Jason said...

Looks like that Guinness had my name on it.