Thursday, December 11, 2008

Get Ready

12/12/08 Edit: I had no business typing the below blog entry. I had just finished watching the news following a Bears victory over the New Orleans Saints. Needless to say, for reasons I'm sure you can imagine, my judgement was temporarily impaired. On top of that, my knowledge on the subject is limited at best. I have decided to leave this post here, however, for your amusement.




"We were about three words away from a deal," said Sen. Bob Corker of Tennessee, the GOP's point man in the negotiations, referring to any date in 2009 on which the UAW would accept wage cuts"

We are in a period of consequence. It's all going to come to a head this month, if all is even remotely close to projections. If GM fails, I don't think this country is prepared for the collateral consequences. It's time to rethink things with the UAW in my opinion. It's time to realize that it's no longer sustainable to manufacture a $30K piece of shit in terms of resale value with a guy making $30 an hour standing there with an air wrench, who can't be disciplined for attendance, insubordination, or whatever without jumping through hoops to do it. There's no accountability for the front line worker who can call in with a hang-nail. There's no way to work around it for the middle managers. We can blame CEO's and market conditions all day long. But this was inevitable. GM workers in Oakland, CA allegedly once went on strike over not being allowed to have Ping Pong tables in their break room. Even if that is half true, it's ridiculous. The UAW and GM are getting nothing more than what they deserve if they are not bailed out. The unfortunate part is what it would do to the rest of us.

2 comments:

Jason said...

So the time stamp on this is 9:30 Thursday night. Wasn't there more important things to be doing at that time. Like concentrating on the f'ing Bears and consuming mega amounts of alcohol!

But to your point...there are a lot of things that seem ridiculous these days. I'm with you. I've always thought shit like that was ridiculous.

Did you see where the money that the banks got from the bailout is going to paying CEO bonuses. "Because if they weren't the ones running those banks, they would be worse off." If I heard correctly, one CEO was getting a 30 mil $ bonus. Give me a couple mil to run that shit into the ground.

Bears!

Noel said...

My profile time was set at Pacific time. I've fixed it now. As you are aware, I had no business being anywhere but my bed or sofa at that time.