Sunday, December 28, 2008

12/20/08 sledding and snow ride

Quite late posting these pics. Last Friday, we got a little ice storm and were to get a little snow on Saturday. Stacey wanted to go out shopping on Saturday so the girls and I played outside for a while. They were both pretty stoked to ride in the sled around the yard. After that we went around the block in our all terrain wagon. Good times until their snotcicles started freezing. Then it was time to go in.

The driveway warmup for what lies ahead.


Ellen hamming it up as usual. She loves sledding.

Mara wanted to pull Ellen up the driveway.
A rare smile for the camera from Mara.


After Stacey got home, it was my turn to go out and play. I had a couple things I needed to return to target, and then I wanted to get a little ride in while the temps were decent. Right before I left, it started snowing a little, but I didn't think it would amount to much. I got to target, and was glad I was on a bike. That was the only way I was gonna get a parking spot. Traffic was bad for Cedar Rapids, and it was nice to scoot right through on my two wheeler. I got in and out of Target pretty quick and called my buddy Norbert to see if he wanted to go for a spin. Turns out he was already out with some buddies on a little bar hopping ride, so I headed their direction. They were coming from the South side into Downtown, and I was about 8 miles away from them, so I met them downtown. By the time I hit the trail that runs north and south thru town, it was snowing like crazy.

Believe it or not, there's a trail somewhere in front of me.
My ugly mug, sorry.
Norbert cruising thru Czech village. That thing on his head is a light.

Stopped for a cold one at Moose McDuffy's.

The Crosscheck with studded tires. Both earned their keep that day.
When I was going down the trail I had the Ipod cranked up with some Sinatra. It was majestic. Ended up throwing down about 30 miles total. Sweet.
Got some Christmas pics to upload and I'll comment on that later this week.

2 comments:

Jason said...

I don't see any cheesy xmas decorations in the yard? thought you won that battle? :)

Kids look great btw! Love their little hats.

Unknown said...

Awhhh. Love the pics of the girls!!!