Had lot's of opportunities this weekend. XC skiing in CR, Gravel century in DSM on Saturday, Gravel century in CR on Sunday. I opted for neither and hit the road myself on Saturday on one of my trusty steeds. The one with spiked snow tires on it
All in all I only rode about 25 miles, but I was hammering the whole way. Rode some city streets on a hilly route I have picked out. Then I got to the River trail, popped in the iPod earbuds and headed towards downtown.
When I got back towards Marion I stopped in to a local pub for some grub and a stout. Too bad the service was the only thing worse than the food at the place I stopped. The Guinness tasted great though. That's when I noticed my ass was soaked and my bike had some major ice buildup on it. Thankful again for the singlespeed drivetrain. The gunk I cleaned out of that bike today would've jacked up a derauilleur for sure.
Went to bed early on Saturday and spent all day with the kids on Sunday. Got a couple of nice pics with my riding shades.
Getting both of them to sit still long enough to snap those photos was nothing short of a miracle. We went for a wagon ride today too that they both sat still for. Rode on the sled in the yard, went to Home Depot, the mall, and ate dinner at a brew pub.
After baths and bedtime, I went out to the garage and cleaned up the bike pictured above. I had the heater blowing and the brew flowing. Nothing finer than a finely tuned drivetrain on a bike you love. A good day indeed.










