Thursday, August 16, 2007

It's here. It's finally Here!!!

It's been almost a week since, but the Bears played and barely won their first preseason football game on Saturday. I watched with much anticipation and excitement. Would the defense look sharp on the line without Tank Johnson. How will Grossman have adjusted and reacted to the criticism he has received during the off season. And Lovie Smith, finally is finally getting paid. I'm convinced Virginia McCaskey is racist.


We ate an early dinner at the mall on Saturday. Ellen ate good as usual and Mara did so-so. We wanted to not have to deal with dinner at home so we could enjoy the game, plus it was so damn hot we couldn't play with the girls outside, so we wanted to get them out of the house. We got ready to watch the game and poured a couple beers in the frosty Bears pint glasses that I collected from my favorite bar in the world during the 2005 season.











We put Ellen to bed early, and she needed to be put to bed early. Pissy pants were on. Mara loves playing in the basement, which is great most of the time. However, my Man Cave I had planned for the basement has been slowly taken over by primary colored toys and a child's kitchen set. Mara stayed awake for most of the first half and then called it a night. But not before taking over Daddy's chair and blanket for a little while.





Overall I was happy with what I saw out of the Bears. Hester being on offense and a confident QB might make up for the attrition that has happened on the defense. Time will tell I guess. I gotta get the girls some new Bears clothes too.

2 comments:

Jason said...

In response to what did I think of Saturday's game:

Very, very happy. Grossman stayed in and stepped up in the pocket, always had a back-up receiver he could hit, and the 2 incomplete passes weren't missed by much. I think they have even practiced his rushing when he doesn't have any options. Benson looked like he could run through anybody. They obviously weren't using Hester like they will be using him in games. Olson is going to be hot. Berrian and Moose I think are both going to have good years. Lots to like! Good to see Mike Brown back on the field. Briggs was quite, but that's OK. He'll be playing his best ball trying to impress other teams for next year. I don't think we'll see the full potential of our D until regular season. Dude, I'm psyched! I think that finally our offense will be driving the team with a top 5 defense to back them up. Did I say I'm psyched?!!!!!

Jason said...

oh yeah, even if Grossman were to get hurt, I think we have pretty damn good back-ups in Griese and the new and improved Orton.