Sunday, April 29, 2007

Be Thankful for what you have


It's surreal to even be thinking about this. A good friend of mine past away this weekend. She died due to complications from giving birth to her second son. Vanessa Cote of Oak Park, IL. She gave birth to her and Matt's 2nd son last week and a complication called DIC was discovered. She fought for a couple days and then passed away. Vanessa was one of the nicest people in the world. You hear that a lot, but I really believe this to be truel She was Matt's high school sweetheart. She and Matt are part of two very close families in Oak Park. She is survived by her husband Matt, her sons Joseph and William, her parents and many many family members and friends. She will be missed.

Tuesday, April 24, 2007

Just me and the kids

This summary is not available. Please click here to view the post.

Thursday, April 19, 2007

Ellen's Melon







Man these kids are crazy. Mara is non-stop. She's got guts man. She'll climb up anything. She'll fall off the couch, the bed, the chairs, the coffee table. Maybe wimper a little, and right back at it. She's learning words all the time. Like when you ask her what her Mommy says, she says "Nag, Nag, Nag." I'm gonna get her a trike this weekend. Mommy won't be here to stop me.




Ellen is an absolute peach. She is eating a ton and sleeping through the night religiously now. She is definitely one of those babies, that if she's on track, great. If not, look out. Dr. Jeckyl / Mr. Hyde syndrome. She went back to the doctor Tuesday to get her head measured. They said the size of her head is off the charts. So I say, "Well, my head is big. My dad's head is big, his dad's head was big." So then the Dr. breaks out the graphs. Her head is big even for people whose families have big heads. So now we gotta go back for a CAT scan. Nothing really to worry about, just precautionary.

So as forementioned, Stacey is leaving for the weekend to see her friend Becky. She is really looking forward to getting away. I however, am scared shitless. I don't know how I'm going to handle two nights alone with the girls. I'm sure we'll make it just fine, but, I'll let you know.

Monday, April 2, 2007

It's been a while

I haven't been paying much attention to this blog for a while. So much going on, but nothing really noteworthy. It's been super busy at work. Looks like every jamoke with a motorcycle is ordering parts. Kinda like me with bicycle stuff I guess. I found a bike rack for my piece of shit truck the other day. I hate taking the front wheels off my bikes. It was hard to find something that mounts in the back of a truck without taking the wheels off. I know I could just throw them in the back, but that's hard on components and paint jobs. It's pretty funny to be hauling around a bike in the back of a truck that cost me less than the bike. Just think if I had two bikes back there. I'd be pissed off if I got in a wreck and the bikes got ruined.

I'm doing one of those off-road duathlons next weekend. I recruited my brother-in-law for the running part. It's a 2 mile run, 8 mile off road ride, followed by a 2 mile run. It's not that I can't run, I just don't want to. I hate running anymore. I guess it's because I did so much of it as a teen. I just can't stand the thought of it. So I have these friends who do marathons and shit and think it's beyond the reach of most people. This doesn't include Jen. Jen (my sister-in-law) rocks and I'll never have a bad word to say about her. I digress, it's not that most people can't do it. I think that most people can do it. I just don't know why the hell you would want to. I mean, that's just pure punishment the whole way through it. The pay off they say is, "It feels good to finish it, because then you know you can do it." I know I could do it if I wanted to, that's all I need know. That knowledge gets me by and saves me a shitload of Saturdays worth of training.

So anyways, I'm doing this duathlon, at least the riding part. I'm looking forward to racing again. It's for a good cause and Stacey is bringing the girls to the race. Maybe a couple Fat Tire Ale's to boot.