
What surprises me most and the part I want to instill into all of the minds that are curious about it is how little of a deal it is. I mean, it really is no big deal to ride to work. I'm not in that great of cycling shape thanks to having two in diapers and a wife with a great career. Not to mention I can't seem to turn down a cookie or a donut these days and you all now how I feel about beer. The bike that comes off the hook every morning to get me there is not a super sleek sexy titanium time machine. All it takes is a decision to do it, and to stick it out regardless of weather conditions. Once you're in the routine, it's just no big deal.
The ride: Mostly side streets. I take off down the 27th Ave from my house going west and see the same nice lady from a street over walking her Shi-Tzu. Nice lady. When I'm outside with the kids, she always get's a smile from Ellen. Then it's left on 31st street. Rolling hill up to McGowan then flat to 8th Ave. Right on 8th Ave to downtown Marion. A couple stop signs and a stop light at 8th Ave and 10th st. This is about when my ol' RAGBRAI buddy Blaine goes past me in his Ford Expedition. One time he rolled his window down and asked me jokingly if I owned a car. I replied "Don't you own a bike?" Then it's down a hill and up a hill to Lindale Ave. Then up another hill to Blairs Ferry Rd. Blairs Ferry is a busy, busy road. I take the streets when stoplights lull the traffic a bit, but the wide sidewalks are fine with me when the flood gates open. Blairs Ferry takes me all the way to the warehouse I call home. I cut behind a couple of businesses to stay off Blairs Ferry and to make the ride a little more interesting. All in all the 6 miles takes me a little less than 25 minutes. I obey traffic laws as to keep motorists from wanting to kill me. I do my best to blend into traffic but I always have my wits in case someone in a hurry hasn't had their morning coffee. It takes me 20 minutes to drive it, so I really can't justify not riding unless I'm cutting it that close to being on time. I hate being late. Just looks bad when you're in charge.

The Rig: My Surly Crosscheck. Purchased the frame from my friend Rich in Aurora, IL. No bling on this bike at all. This bitch is all business. I wanted her to be somewhat aggressive, but not to the point of being completely uncomfortable. I wanted her to not be tempting to thieves, so kept the black theme going with no shiny bits. Most of all, I wanted her to be able to take a beating. So for you fellow bike geeks, I'll run it down for you, but don't get too excited:
- 2005 Surly Cross check frame and fork
- Bontrager seatpost straight out the spare parts bin
- Azonic stem: A freebie from Rich that I had on another bike a few years ago (out of the bin)
- Surly F/R hubs Freewheel flip-flop. No fixie's for me. I like to coast down hills. (Out of the bin)
- Velocity Deep-V rims 32 hole 3x pattern with straight 14 gauge spokes
- Circa 1973 Wrights Brother's leather saddle. Surprisingly comfy and adds a little style. (Out of the bin)
- One-One Midge bars
- Dia-Comp V brake road levers
- Paul Components Touring Canti's. Sweet brakes for Canti's, but I freakin' hate Canti's. Rich sold them to me cheap with the frame though, so I bought them.
- Continental something or other tires I had on my touring bike. 700x28.
- Plain ol' black bar tape
- Specialized Strongarm II cranks (out of the bin)
- 44t Salsa Chainring (Ebay)
- Sram PC 58 chain (I always keep a couple of these around)
- 16t Shimano Freewheel (Out of the bin)
- Crank Bros Candy pedals


