Wednesday, June 6, 2007

I made Rosedale my bitch

Enough about kids for now. Let's get to some biking. I built this bike in the winter you may have read about (yawn) for urban rides. It was a single speed and still is only now I have it set up with a much taller (harder) gear ratio. I originally built it with a 34:16 ratio, and now have it at 44:18, which allows me to get places faster on flat paved roads, but steep hills make me cry for my Momma. Anyway, I hit the road at about 8:45pm tonight for a solo ride. I know my buddies Poncho and Norbert are out riding with some friends like they do every Wednesday. So I call Norbert's cell phone. I find out where they are and figure I can meet them somewhere in between where I am and where they are. Turns out, they cranked it up and headed downtown, and I completely missed them. Now, where I'm sitting, there's only one feasible way out of, up Rosedale Road hill. This hill is a bitch. There's a gradual incline that sucks any momentum you can muster up right out of you. Then it gets really steep really fast. Then it gets steeper and turns to the right. Then when you think you're in the clear, it continues to gradually climb for another 100 feet or so. The last time I tried this hill on this bike I had to do a bunch of switch backs to get up it. I made it, but barely. I'm lucky I didn't eat anything before I rode that time, or I would have given the Raccoons a nice appetizer. But this time, I was feeling good. I hit the incline at the bottom and gave her hell. I rode straight up that bitch and didn't stop till I hit the top. Then I literally turned my head around and told the hill to Fuck off as if it could hear me.

I had an errand to run on my way home. I had to stop at the store to buy some juice for Mara. While I was there, I decided to buy myself a celebratory 6 pack of Sierra Nevada Summer Ale, my favorite summer beer. I'm on my second one as I write this and will probably have a 3rd.